History | Church of Scientology and Celebrity Centre Nashville

The History
Of the Fall School

The Fall School, now home to the Church of Scientology and Celebrity Centre, was originally constructed in 1898 as one of Nashville’s first multi‑room schoolhouses. It was named in honor of Philip Slater Fall, a prominent 19th century pastor and pioneer in the causes of religion and public education, and remains the oldest public school building in the city.

The building is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, and its unique combination of Victorian and neoclassical architecture makes it one of Nashville’s most treasured landmarks.

After acquiring the Fall School, the Church carefully restored and preserved the historic structure. In the process, the building’s architectural features were returned to their turn-of-the-20th-century splendor, including interior stained glass windows, coffered ceilings and wide plank floors.

By far, the building’s most notable feature is its octagonal atrium, rising 60 feet and topped by a spectacular glass cupola. At the base of the atrium, the original fountain stands as it did in 1898, with its surrounding apron of glass brick allowing sunlight from the cupola to light the floor below. Further historical elements preserved in the atrium include its original banisters and colonnade.

The Church was honored by the Metropolitan Nashville Historical Commission for its outstanding work to honor the city’s architectural heritage.

The historic home of the Church of Scientology and Celebrity Centre Nashville stands in tribute to those who keep the artistic spirit alive in Music City, USA.